

EAST AFRICAN COMMUNITY EAST AFRICAN LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

A RESOLUTION OF THE ASSEMBLY URGING THE ASSEMBLY TO ACCORD SPECIAL THANKS TO HON. SHEM BAGEINE, MINISTER OF STATE FOR EAC AFFAIRS OF THE REPUBLIC OF UGANDA FOR HIS EXTRAORDINARY PERFORMANCE AS CHAIRPERSON OF THE EAC COUNCIL OF MINISTERS

THAT THIS ASSEMBLY;

WHEREAS the Partner States have all appointed Ministers responsible for EAC Affairs and each of them assumes office of Chairperson on yearly rotational basis;

AND WHEREAS Hon. Shem Bageine is the Minister of State for EAC Affairs of Uganda and is part of the EAC Council of Ministers and has recently concluded his tenure as the Chair of the Council of Ministers;

NOTING that The EAC Council is the policy Organ of the Community for purposes of reinforcing the implementation of the programs of the Community and to ensure the proper functioning and development of the Community in accordance with the Treaty;

AWARE that, Hon Shem Bageine, by virtue of his position as Minister, is an Ex-Officio Member of the East African Legislative Assembly;

ACKNOWLEDGING his personal commitment to the activities of the Assembly and his organizational and leadership abilities to continue to steer the East African Community to further development;

NOTING WITH APPRECIATION that he has represented his people and the people of East Africa in the last one year with maximum dedication and commitment;

COGNISANT of his invaluable contribution to the advancement of the EAC Integration as a Chairperson of Council of Ministers and his positive and productive contribution to the Council of Ministers during his tenure of office;

APPRECIATING his outstanding contribution as the Chairperson of EAC Council of Ministers on EAC major projects including the fight against Non Tariff Barriers and assignment of specific tasks to Ministers in the integration process and spend more time at Arusha for purposes of supervision and coordination;

RECOGNIZING the incredible efforts he put in place to allow for continuity after the tragic loss of the Rt. Hon. Eriya Kategaya;

FURTHER APPRECIATING his role in the EAC Monetary Union negotiations by inspiring Members of High Level Task Force to fast track the negotiations on the Protocol and his personal commitment to finalize the Protocol as directed by the Summit of Heads of State ready for its signing in November 2013 and meeting the set deadline of November 2013.

COMMENDING Hon. Shem Bageine for competently steering the business of Council Business within the Assembly by answering questions put to the Council, introducing Council Bills, Presenting the EAC Budget 2013/2014, debating important motions, and assisting in the passage of Bills before the Assembly;

NOW THEREFORE THIS HOUSE DO RESOLVE AS FOLLOWS; TO COLLECTIVELY;

- Recognize the well deserving faith placed in Hon. Shema Bageine as Minister State for EAC Affairs of the Republic of Uganda by H.E. Yoweri Museveni, President of the Republic of Uganda.
- 2. Convey our sincere thanks and gratitude to Hon. Shem Bageine for performing his duties as Chair of Council of Ministers with diligence and remarkable distinction;
- 3. Express our gratitude and appreciation to Hon. Shem Bageine for his remarkable achievements in pushing the integration agenda;

4. Recognize Hon. Shem Bageine's commitment to enhance regional integration and

his leadership style that has helped to hasten the process of regional integration.

5. Mandate the Speaker of the Assembly to transmit this resolution to

H.E. Yoweri Museveni, President of the Republic of Uganda.

Moved by: Hon. Valerie Nyirahabineza

Seconded by: Hon. Emmanuel Nengo

3