

MOTION OF THE ASSEMBLY PAYING TRIBUTE TO THE LATE RT. HON. ERIYA KATEGAYA, 1ST DEPUTY PRIME MINISTER AND MINISTER OF EAC OF THE REPUBLIC OF UGANDA

THAT This Assembly;

HAVING received with shock the news of passing away of Rt. Hon. Eriya Kategaya,

1st Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of EAC of the Republic of Uganda and the Chairperson of the EAC Council of Ministers;

NOTING THAT Hon. Kategaya was at the realm and a key actor in the reestablishment of the East African Community and exhibited strong commitment and faith in the EAC integration process;

FURTHER NOTING Hon. Kategaya's dedicated service towards the revival of co-operation and establishment of integration among the original Member States of the EAC and the later country expansion of the Community to include the Republic of Burundi and Republic of Rwanda;

RECOGNIZING his amiable and yet strong character and style of leadership as a Deputy Prime Minister of the Republic of Uganda and Chairperson of the Council of Ministers;

FURTHER RECOGNIZING his effective contribution to constitutional development, parliamentary democracy in Uganda and the legal profession in EAC region;

RECALLING the active role he played in the political struggles to liberate the people of Uganda from the shackles of dictatorship;

NOW THEREFORE THIS HOUSE DO HEREBY:-

- 1. Express its heartfelt condolences to the family, Government, the people of Uganda and the entire East African fraternity on the loss of this gallant son of East Africa.
- 2. Pay tribute to the late Rt. Hon. Eriya Kategaya for his outstanding selfless service to the people of Uganda and the East African Community.

Moved by Hon. Shem Bageine

Seconded by Hon. Mike Kennedy Sebalu