• 4431b.jpg
  • 443d4a-1.jpg
  • PR_20160205_001_02.jpg
  • PR_20160205_002_02.jpg
  • 443d3bjpg.jpg
  • 443b.jpg
  • PR_2-160205_001_03.jpg
  • 443a.jpg
  • 443d6b.jpg
  • PR_20160205_002_01.jpg
  • 443d3c.jpg
  • 443d4b.jpg

The Speaker

Rt. Hon. Daniel Fred Kidega
EALA Speaker
December 2014 – June 2017

The East African Legislative Assembly (Assembly) is an Organ of the East African Community; established under Article 9 of the Treaty for the Establishment of the East African Community. The Treaty was signed on 30th November 1999 and entered into force on 7th July 2000 by the Partner States of The Republic of Uganda, The Republic of Kenya; and the United Republic of Tanzania.  The Republic of Burundi and the Republic of Rwanda acceded to the Treaty on 18th June 2007 and became full members on 1st July 2007, thus expanding the number of the Community Partner States to five.