Media » 8th EAC Inter-Parliamentary Games off the block in Dar

  • Hon Dan Wanyama leads other legislators to win the 200 metre dash
  • A section of EALA representatives at the 8th IPG that commenced at the Main Stadium in Dar Es Salaam
  • A section of other participants match towards the Main Stadium at the commencement of the 8th IPG in Dar Es Salaam

8th EAC Inter-Parliamentary Games off the block in Dar

East African Legislative Assembly, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania: 3rd December 2017: The 8th Inter-Parliamentary Games Tournament has kicked off in Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania, with legislators getting off the blocks on a sure footing, winning a good number of the track and field events.

In athletics, Parliament of Uganda’s Hon Julius Acon Bua lit the Uwanja wa Taifa (main stadium) in the 1500 metres Men finals to capture gold returning 04.36 minutes as compatriot, Hon Mbwatekamwa Gaffa settled for 2nd place after rescuing 5.25 minutes.  The third place went to Kenya’s Hon John Paul Mwirigi.  In the women’s race, the tide changed as Hon Josefa Komba of the Parliament of Tanzania returned 7.28 minutes, few seconds earlier than Hon Adeke Anna of Parliament of Uganda who came in second.  Third place went to Hon Kinyamatama Juliet of Parliament of Uganda who managed 8.19.

The 100 metre dash had a scintillating final.  In the Men’s race, Hon Vincent Musyoka of Parliament of Kenya made 11.61, forty-five seconds ahead of Hon Mbwatekamwa Gaffa of Parliament of Uganda – who realized 12.43.    Third place went to Hon Nixon Korir of Kenya who returned 13.05.

Parliament of Kenya’s Hon Mercy Chebeny scooped gold in 400 metres returning 1.23 minutes, 3 seconds head of Hon Esther Matiku as Hon Achen Christine finished third clocking 1.29 seconds. The script was the same as in the Men’s 400 metres with Parliament of Kenya’s Hon Victor Munyaka (1.00) and Hon Moses Kajwang (1.02) taking a 1-2 finish.   Parliament of Uganda’s Hon Mbwatekamwa Gaffa managed 1.04 to take the third place.

A similar exciting race was the 200 metrres where Uganda’s Hon Katwesigye crossed the line first on 35.0 while Hon Rose Tweve (36.24) and Hon Esther Matiku (37.16) finished in second and third place respectively.

In the men’s category, Hon Dan Wanyama of Parliament of Kenya (26.28) led compatriot, Hon Charles Nguna (27.44) while 3rd place went to Parliament of Uganda’s Hon Alero Tom Aza (27.68).

Team Uganda’s Hon Julius Acon scooped the 800 metre race managing 2.16 as Hon Patrick Malilo from Kenya crossed the line on 2.29, just twenty seconds ahead of Tanzania’s Hon Hassan Masala.

In the 4 x 100 metre dash, Team Kenya consisting of Hon Dan Wanyama, Hon Victor Munyaka, Hon Nixon Korir and Hon Vincent Musau made for the tape at 51.53 to scoop gold. Parliament of Uganda’s Hon Atiku Benaro, Hon Mbatekamwa Gaffa, Hon Alero Tom Aza and Hon Pentagon Kamusiime took the third slot.

The 400 x 4 dash also lit the crowd of spectators who braved the early afternoon heat. In the Men’s category, Hon Dan Wanyama of Kenya led compatriot to a comfortable 4.08 strong finish over Parliament of Uganda led by Hon Alero Tom Aza.   Hon Stephen Masele and teammates returned third. In the women’s category, Hon Zubeda Sukuru and team managed 6.41 narrowly beating Hon Adeke Ann and team who came second thirteen seconds later.  Parliament of Kenya was third.

In men’s tug of war, Parliament of Tanzania scooped 6 points after recording 2 pulls to nil in similar score over Kenya and Uganda respectively. Parliament of Uganda scooped 3 points after stopping Parliament of Kenya 2-0.  In the women’s category, Parliament of Kenya and Parliament of Uganda all scored 4 points after a win and draw a piece to set themselves for a re-match to determine the champions. Parliament of Kenya ensured 2 pulls to zero over Parliament of Kenya before settling to a 1-1 pull with Parliament of Uganda.   In the subsequent match, Parliament of Uganda walloped Parliament of Tanzania 2-0.

Earlier on, the ten-day extravaganza was preceded by a Pre-Tournament Conference opened by the Speaker of Parliament of Tanzania, Rt Hon Job Ndugai. The Speaker reiterated the importance of holding the annual Games, saying it enhanced inclusiveness and bonding.   He remarked that as hosts, the United Republic of Tanzania was committed to ensuring all Partner States benefit from the games and enhance the relationships with the citizens.

Others who addressed the meeting were the President of the Senate of Burundi, Rt. Hon Reverien Ndikuriyo, Hon Moses Cheboi, Deputy Speaker of the Kenya National Assembly and the Leader of Official Opposition (LOP) in the Parliament of Uganda, Hon Winnie Kiiza. Further presentations were made by former Members of EALA, Rt Hon Pierre Celestin Rwigema on Discipline and Etiquette, Hon Chris Opoka on the Milestones of the EAC and by Mr Jeremiah Nyegenye, CBS, on the way forward for the Inter-Parliamentary Games as it heads towards a decade.



For more Information, contact:

Mr. Bobi Odiko,

Senior Public Relations Officer;

East African Legislative Assembly;

Tel: +255-27-2508240 Cell: +255 787 870945+254-733-718036;



Arusha, Tanzania

  • Google+
  • PrintFriendly