Administrative Structure of EALA

Politically, the Head of the Assembly is the Speaker, while the Clerk is in charge of its day to day administration.  For administrative purposes, the Assembly is divided into two main departments: the Legislature and the Office of the Clerk. The Legislature is mainly concerned with administrative issues that concern the Members, while the Office of the Clerk addresses staff matters. The EALA is currently managed by a staff of 25 officers, headed by the Clerk. The Office of the Clerk is further divided into specialized sections:

1.  Legislative and Procedural Services - This division processes bills, motions, sit in the chambers and are Secretaries to the Standing and select Committees;

2.  Hansard - This division produces verbatim records of the Assembly and selected Committees;

3.  Sergeant-At-Arms - This division provides security, is responsible for maintenance of buildings, and ceremonial functions including carrying the Mace;

4. Library and Research – This division provides technical support to staff and Members of the Assembly in the areas of research, documentation and dissemination of information; and

5.  Accounts – This division facilitates the running of the Assembly through financial management and book keeping.

6.  Staff – This division facilitates the running of all the activities of the Assembly


              East African Legislative Assembly Staff

                                                                                          PUBLIC RELATIONS DEPARTMENT


                                                                                            HANSARD DEPARTMENT


                                                                                   LIBRARY AND RESEARCH DEPARTMENT



                                                                                         SERJEANT-AT-ARMS DEPARTMENT


                                                                                                  Ezekiel Migosi


                                                Jovitus Nkeramigambi           Stephen Kikwai                  Wycliff Ketto


                                                                                             ACCOUNT DEPARTMENT


                                                                                                IT DEPARTMENT



                                                                                                  Edna Mbassa